top of page

How many cups of chai left?

This week I've been waking up more aware of the fact that I now have less than three months left here. The other day, Rachel and I were talking and she made a comment about how the cups of chai we had left are limited. Even aside from my love affair with the chai here, that statement really hit me.

The first week I was here, we were filming a documentary in a village when I took this photo. I look back and think how much I've learned and changed since those first few cups of chai. I sit here and think about who I will be in three months when I have my last cup here.

Lately I've been trying to make the most of my time. If I let myself, I can get stuck in a rut of staying in the office all day. Even when I don't know where to go, I have been trying to get out or at least try something new each day. One of the reasons I've put so much effort into updating my blog and posting more is because I want to savor each moment---each sip if you will.

It's funny---if you haven't had Indian chai, its a hard sensation to give justice simply through words. But at the same time, it's something worth sharing. And if I don't try to keep explaining it, eventually I'll forget the taste too. Like chai, this journey has been rich, spicy and unexpected, sweet in the perfect way, hot (Indian summer here we come!), and always accompanied with moments of fellowship. The best thing about chai here is that you hardly ever drink it alone.

If you're ever thinking of me, help keep me accountable for savoring the chai that's left. Send me a message, comment on my posts, or even lift up a prayer. As always, thanks for reading and cheers to the next three months here in India.

-Jenna

FOLLOW ME
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page