top of page

bound for Zimbabwe

This morning at 7:15, we pulled into Lover's Lane UMC to load up 31 suitcases into 5 different cars that carried our team of 15 to the Dallas Fort Worth Airport. Right now I am flying over Canada on our way to Dubai. What an incredible journey God has laid out today, this coming week, and in the past week. 

So many emotions I am experiencing right now, and many of them do not even begin to describe how I feel. Excited. Fatigued. Awestruck. Happy. Sad. Terrified. Drained. 

I flew to Dallas last Saturday and spent the week with Sarah Luginbill (a dear family friend) and her family, and Ephraim (the really lovely African man in all of my Facebook and Instagram pictures). I helped with their church's VBS, and got to see a little slice of Dallas each afternoon with Ephraim. 

Thursday, our team gathered and had a packing party. We gathered our minimal personal supplies and then packed 77 pounds each of things for the children we are meeting in Africa. We packed clothes, soccer balls, scissors, medical supplies, sheets, shoes, toiletries, even a piñata named by like three different people. 

The week began on Sunday with pure joy and excitement. Ephraim and two of our other team members, Thierry and Cadet, are from Africa and are living here on visas. Sunday, Ephraim was our last to receive his travel documents. 

This morning, when we woke up, I didn't think to be concerned that I'd be sitting on this 14 hour plane ride without my best friend sitting next to me. 

When we got to the airport, Ephraim Thierry and Cadet were denied entry to our flight because their visas did not show in the system, despite being approved. The immigration offices in Harare, Zimbabwe are not open on Saturday and Sunday, which left no one to verify their approval. Sarah stayed with them and will be waiting until Monday to hopefully fly out to meet us in Zimbabwe. 

Starting on Sunday at Lover's Lane, we were commissioned by three different services, including their Zimbabwean congregation. Since then, I have never felt more enveloped in prayer in my life. There have been so many people sharing their blessings and love with us, and the feeling is indescribable. Even as I sit here without Ephraim and the rest of our team, we know that this is God's plan and that they will be with us soon. 

I hope that as you read this you take a moment to send some love to us in Dallas, Canada, Dubai, and Zimbabwe, and everywhere in between. God is showing us some incredible people, and I can't wait to continue sharing this journey with everyone. 

Thank you as always for reading. 

Blessings,

Jenna

FOLLOW ME
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page