top of page

Month 3 Reflection


Wow. Three months crept up on me. I feel like whenever I make a post reflecting on my time here it starts with "wow". It's funny how that one little word can come out in response to such an incredible experience.

It can be easy to pick out things that I wish I'd have done better or get in my head too much about the person I think I should be, but in all honesty, these have been 3 of the best months of my life. And each day gets better.

One of the biggest things God has been teaching me is how to rely on him for comfort, joy, and direction. Being all the way across the world from what I've always known gives me lots of opportunities to need God as my support.

Just the other day I was thinking about how I'm not learning what I expected to learn during this time. When I began fundraising this time last year, I imagined God working through me to make a difference in this community in India. The biggest way He's been able to teach me though is by showing me how to lean on Him when the biggest task for my day is to iron some sheets. I may not be moving mountains every single day, but when I have God, I always have a beautiful view.

Here, my view each day has some beautiful faces and moments. Each morning when Sumit brings in the newspaper and says "Good morning" with his genuine smile. Yesterday, when Manohar joked around with Rose in the office by sending her 257 text messages in a row. When Sneha laughs at something you say and gives you a high-five. Chai breaks when Deepak and I always eat the most biscuits. When Rachel and I went to get street food on Tuesday. When Manohar plays worship songs on the guitar. When I get to watch the sun rise and set. The times when I get to talk to my family or Ephraim or Olivia on the phone. Trying new foods. Learning new Hindi phrases. Bible studies.

The biggest way I've always seen God working in my life is through His people. He created so much variety, and this year I've just been really enjoying the lessons each person has to offer, and the memories that I'll hold with me for a life time.

I've been reminded lately of God's loving character. In 1 Corinthians 13, it says that love is greater than even faith and hope. As I've remembered lately how sincerely and earnestly God's love is, it brings with it comfort, peace, humility, joy. These next couple months that I have left may seem short, but I have a peace about it right now that makes each day feel like a gift.

Here are some pictures from month 3!

FOLLOW ME
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page